a john doe.

he lurked somewhere behind in their shadows.
unknown. unnoticed. unheard of.
for many, he had just been a stepping stone. a drab rock, fit only for them to stomp on.
for some, he had just been a catalyst. a pitiful substance that never changed itself, yet changed their lives.
for some, he had just been an abandoned puppy. a pathetic, lost creature who was  petted and stroked and fondled for some time until forgotten again.
for a few, he had just been an object of ridicule. a whimpering lowlife, a prey that always managed to get caught on the hook.
for a few, he simply did not exist. avoided, maybe. a void, definitely.

a silhouette. a fleeting shadow. a forgotten face.
that is all he was.

in life.

and.
in death.

a john doe, eik laawaris laash.

 

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “a john doe.

  1. Bored =P says:

    Even though we ain’t go no money, I’m so in love with you honey and everything will bring a chain of love. In the morning when I rise, bring a tear of joy to my eyes and tell me everything is goin’ to be alright =P

  2. A very good friend of yours but intentionally is hiding the identity for no apparent reason. says:

    Anas, I’ve been reading you ever since we got acquainted and yes I love your writings a lot. Your writings made me love you, as a person, as a friend. Now, let me tell you, that you surely need a noetic bunch of readers who could actually analyze your words. Yes, we say, we write for ourselves and no applause etc would be required as far as writing help us to over come our suffocation. But then, a good rational critique do help us to seek the ways of improvement, NO? And there surely is one room for it, always.
    I read this piece of yours, twice. I felt these words. Then I read it again. Every single word touched me. Yes, apparently it is based on a certain theme but then, it is the story of every single one among us. NO? One way or the other, yes, it is. We all are so. This is our reality. We, mere lump of flesh, are happy today. Living in this hour, feeling the hype, thinking the near and dear ones are sincere to us. But then, very soon we get stabbed, our hearts – poisoned. We become the ladder and a pavement just to lead others. We get used. Our beings, writhened. For some, our faces might be dear, but realistically every one is alone. Yes, amidst the cursed soil, every body stands apart. Every one is just a nameless droplet in a namesless sea. This part of yours got me a lump in throat. A heart ache, may be.

    “for some, he had just been an abandoned puppy. a pathetic, lost creature who was petted and stroked and fondled for some time until forgotten again.
    for a few, he had just been an object of ridicule. a whimpering lowlife, a prey that always managed to get caught on the hook.
    for a few, he simply did not exist. avoided, maybe. a void, definitely.”
    This is something we escape. Yes, we escape the reality to deny the facts, to deceive ourselves and what not. We are so transparent that sometimes we just forget it.
    Yes, we don’t know the colors behind the veils. Finally, all smiles are lost and we stand, along the way, just senile and frayed.
    Just see, how profoundly you said it everything in these few lines;

    “a silhouette. a fleeting shadow. a forgotten face.
    that is all he was.

    in life.

    and.
    in death”
    This is reality! Where we stand. This writing piece has got subtleness. It keeps a vague image. But then again, if it gets a true eye, it is so mirror clear to reflect the factual fact at our faces. It has got the sweetness of sin. It keeps the piety of virtue. It keeps the pleasure of bitterness. It keeps the sting of reality. It keeps the pain of misery. It keeps the beauty of luxury. It keeps REALITY. FACTUALNESS. It keeps A LOT in it.

    I donot know how it may be apprehended by other readers. I donot know how you yourself see it. May be, my response seem to be overwhelming as that is usual in your case. BUT the way I grasped it, the way I got it’s imagery, THAT SPOKE A LOT.

    @Bored, I know, I donot have the write to point you out, but reading such an anserine and naive response to such an unfathomed and exquisite piece made me cry. Believe me. Writing or literature has yet not got so dopy to receive such a response. I am SORRY, I know I’ve no right to say it all. But my sincerity towards the beauty of spoken and unspoken words couldn’t stop me.

    Back to you, Anas:

    I know, I gave you the torture of reading such a long comment but then, I excuse for it.
    You touched the heart and the soul of your reader with these so simple lines, isn’t it something HUGE for you as a writer? It surely is. Miles are stretched between us but then, your words said it all. You won as a writer. No wonder, you’ll go places, my friend! ❤

    I'd just drop my few lines here:

    " In an old window's pane,
    Is that svelte flickering candle,
    Dying,Trying and sweetly lying
    To keep awaken, a dead soul –
    Engraved in solitude. "

    I LOVED THIS WRITING. I LOVE YOU FOR THIS AND ALL YOUR WORDS.
    P.S: I am stuck in its affect. I am unable to get out of the illusion it made over my brain.
    And lastly, I hope you do not figure who am I. But I am sure, you'd.

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Overwhelming? Nay! Your comment made my day: it makes me really happy that my words touched someone so much that they were compelled to write such a long comment. Thank you so much for taking time out of your life to write such a wonderful critique; and indeed, in my quest to become a better writer, critiques as yours never go amiss.
      Really, I am awed by your detailed interpretation of my write-up – with most of your thoughts coinciding with mine.
      Thank you so much again! Keep visiting 🙂

      P.S Loved the verse in the end. Beautiful 🙂

  3. mominalatif says:

    Such a common feeling, yet so rare. Beautifully written.

  4. Hira says:

    Beautifully expressed.
    It is a human failing dat v simply do treat others human beings in dis manner n yes its quite painful but sumhw remaining nameless and without identity even after death is too painful even though technically it doesnt really matter anymore.

  5. Hira says:

    Apart from d ‘It doesnt even matter’ d actual subject matter is different u knw :p
    Bt yea awsome song its STILL in my music list :p

  6. cryptic999 says:

    I see, you’ve got quite a fan following who can jot down such profound comments. It must be quite pleasing for you, as a writer. Indeed, a very profound one. Living without identity is more painful than dying without a name as in the end, everyone is going to be a part of that debris waiting in the soil!

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Yes, it is indeed very pleasing! It makes me happy that my words stir thoughts and reflections in minds of others 🙂
      Very true what you say! 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

  7. emphadiate says:

    Your other readers have basically summed up all the good points much more adequately, but I just had to say I loved this!

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Haha, yes the extremely long comment. It makes my heart swell in happiness when I see readers making an effort to write such a long comment..
      Thank you so much for dropping by! It really means a lot.

Leave a Reply

