Avalanche

A sieve is what he wished for – a porous membrane that would help him sift through the chaos swirling in his head.

How do you confront all heads of Hydra together? How do you choose which one to hack? How can you know for sureΒ  that two more heads would not sprout up in the place of the one you hacked off?

He wondered how a slight inkling of trouble could have evolved into a myriad of problems: problems that had determined to consume him so utterly, so absolutely as to not even leave an iota of his will unscathed. He understood now: the hollow quotes, the vague statuses he had shared on Facebook – they did not mean anything. They did not help him unravel his problems. They did not help him find solutions. All they ever invoked was a false sense of security; that somehow, the statuses, the quotes would help him exorcise his troubles.

He understood now: how intricately his thought processes were woven with his actions. How he had to chalk deeds on his slate, to clear his mind. How taking even the smallest of steps was more important than just twiddling thumbs and doing nothing.

It takes but a little stone dislodged, to set off an avalanche. And if you find yourself in the midst of one, you do not allow it to overwhelm you.

Instead you do something: you grab a boulder and hang on.

Tagged , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Avalanche

  1. Rehmat says:

    Good one anas..
    Impressive take!!

  2. Hira Nazir says:

    Reblogged this on Hira Nazir and commented:
    I do not usually Reblog stuff unless I am deeply touched, but this piece SPOKE OUT MY HEART, MY STATE OF MIND AND THE STORY OF MY OWN SELF, CURRENTLY. It couldn’t be get better than this. I need not to add a long comment. Just simply, it is ❀ ❀

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      I’m glad it meant something to you, for I wrote it to achieve clarity of mind. I wrote it to put the ruckus of my mind into order and you cannot imagine how happy it makes me that it helped someone else as well.
      You always manage to overwhelm me, Hira. Thank you so much πŸ™‚ I really appreciate it. Thanks for reblogging πŸ™‚

  3. Hira Nazir says:

    Anas ❀ Somehow, it helped.

  4. Hira says:

    Wow o.o
    Especially d last line. It was incredible! Kinda moving :p
    N myt i add FINALLY! :p
    I hope it helped clear ur mind den?
    U knw ur expressions in writing r reli sumthing! Keep it up! ^_^

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Yes, it did help clearing it up a bit πŸ˜€
      Thank you so much! πŸ˜€ And yes, you may add finally. I hope to update it regularly ^_^

      • Hira says:

        U r most welcome πŸ™‚
        And I am plesantly surprised to see dat u actually did update it kinda quick :p
        Is dis a phase or u baq to d gud old days? :p

  5. Khaula Nazir says:

    Hahah…now the quotes thing was bullseye. I agree, because I think that was absolutely correct. And the thing you wrote, its how I feel sometimes, and I don’t feel like that after reading something…so this was mind blowing.
    Great post…I have something like that written in my book right here..
    Gearing up to have it printed to thumb it on my soft-board.
    Very well done.

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Thank you so much! I’d love to read what you’ve written.
      I’m glad this post resonated with you! πŸ™‚

  6. dania.nawaz says:

    This is beautifully penned down, I’ve been rendered speechless.

Leave a Reply

