Tears – Rain of emotions?

The village was very peaceful and quiet, and the light mists were solemnly rising, as if to show me the world, and I had been so innocent and little there, and all beyond was so unknown and great, that in a moment with a strong heave and sob I broke into tears. It was by the finger-post at the end of the village, and I laid my hand upon it, and said,’ Goodbye, O my dear, dear friend!’

Heaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlying our hard hearts. I was better after I had had cried, than before – more sorry, more aware of my own ingratitude, more gentle. If I had cried before, I should have had Joe with me then.

Extract from Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Tears – Rain of emotions?

  1. Hira says:

    whoz joe? :p
    n its reli tru!

  2. Hira says:

    hw was d buk?

  3. Hira says:

    hmm okie.
    wats it abt i MYT read it!

  4. Anas Shafqat says:

    It’s about a journey of a poor child from childhood to maturity – with great expectations :]

  5. Hira says:

    poor kid m sure all his expectation were met wid tragedy!

  6. Hira says:

    oh n i LOVE the picture!!!!

  7. Anas Shafqat says:

    Nopes :] it is one of the most fascinating books I’ve ever read.

  8. Anas Shafqat says:

    oh and thanks 😀 I loved it too 😀

  9. Hira says:

    nah m sure it was tragic n d worldz guna end kind ov depressing :p

  10. Anas Shafqat says:

    But you always go for depressing things .. depressing music and so on ;p so y not give it a try ;P

  11. Hira says:

    i tho u din count me off as emo -_-

    • Anas Shafqat says:

      Rofl no :p But you generally like depressing songs 😛 And this book isnt depressing 😛 It compels you to think!

Leave a Reply

